Homecoming Success

October 25, 2010

Hey everyone! Baconator here, back again for another post! Thankfully, the homecoming dance turned out to be a complete success, and I could tell that everyone enjoyed eating up our tasty buttercream and ganache filled cupcakes and layer cakes. I immediately went to try the ganache cake and buttercream cupcakes during the dance, and I have to say, they put me into a dancing kind of mood. Last week was an incredible week in my opinion, because I got to learn how to make two of the most essential baking treats for homecoming. Layer cakes and cupcakes are two food items I have always wanted to learn how to make, and I was more than happy to learn the techniques used to make the perfect treats!

I was very lucky to have learned the techniques to filling cupcakes and leveling cakes, and I would love to share the information with you today so you can begin making them yourself. The ingredients and process are on previous posts, but the techniques are just as important to me, and I feel they should be noted. When filling a cupcake, making sure that you put the knife you’re using at an angle so that you can cut a cone out of the middle of the cupcake. Cut the bottom of the cone, and carefully fill the cream of your choice in the middle. You can put anything from ganache to nutella and berries inside of the cupcakes, so let your creative juices flow! Then, you want to make sure that  you stick your frosting in a pastry bag, and compress the tip to put the frosting into the cupcake. Afterward, you can put the top back on, and add more frosting to the top of the cupcake, and make sure you spread with confidence! 

Leveling a cake is a whole other fun adventure. Use a long serrated knife to level the cake so that its flat. Put a ball of frosting in the middle, spread it in a circular motion, and add the second cake layer on top. To keep crumbs from getting on your frosting, add a thin layer of frosting all over the cake, and refrigerate it for about 10 minutes. I found this really interesting, because I never thought that the crumbs would be that big of a problem. After you take the cake out, it will be much easier to put frosting all over the cake without crumbs being a problem.

Overall, the experience for making these tasty treats made last two weeks a blast. I was able to learn many interesting facts about all kinds of frostings that I didn’t even know existed, and I learned how to make a legitimate red velvet layer cake, which is one of my favorite desserts of all time. They tasted great at homecoming, and I’m really excited that it all turned out as well as it did. Until next time, this is the Baconator signing out. 

 

One Response to “Homecoming Success”

  1. Everyone at Homecoming LOVED the treats! (especially the ganache filled cupcakes…) -seltzer sayre.

Leave a Reply

