Sunday With a Chance of Mousse

November 15, 2010

Finished Chocolate Mousse Pie with Garnish

Well, it’s taken time. Over 5 hours. Quite frankly, the pie is still cooling. After I popped it into the fridge, the pie would need to cool for 2 more hours. An hour until I can eat it. Everything was going surprisingly smoothly earlier, so I probably should have seen this coming. At the very least, I can safely say that no pie looks quite like mine. (see below)

I planned it all. I sketched my mise-en-place, arranged my mise-en-place, read through the lists of ingredients and directions ahead of time. I guess you could say the problem started with the crust. I added the minimum amount of ice-cold water instructed to pour in, but the dough wouldn’t clump together. So I added 1 more tablespoon, like the recipe said. Then, the dough’s consistency got too wet. So, I added a little flour. Then a little more, but the dough was still too damp. When I refrigerated the dough for 30 minutes, it refused to stiffen. Good thing the dark chocolate mousse was turning out well….

Dark Chocolate Drizzle

Fully Combined Mousse

The mousse actually did turn out perfectly. The taste or texture of it was not the problem. I just happened to forget that the crust is what’s supposed to be baked, then you put in the chocolate mousse to cool. Oh, yes. After I crimped the dough (I thought I did a good job), I scooped in the mousse, smoothed it out, and carefully set the pie on the middle rack of the oven. Then it hit me. Wasn’t I supposed to place the pie in the fridge? Why did I preheat the oven?? So I took the pie out, put it in the fridge, and turned off the oven. At this point, I just wanted my pie to work its magic.

Let's Roll!

Then my Dad noticed something I was too busy to: The “crust” is raw and technically….not crust. Nevertheless, I remained determined to “make it work!” After delicately ladling out the mousse and brushing off the rest, I baked the crust for a total of 40 minutes. After allowing the crust to cool for 30 minutes, I successfully filled the golden brown (baked) pie shell with the mousse and placed the pie into the fridge. A mousse pie will need to be refrigerated for at least 1-2 hours in order for the filling to set. When the pie had been fully cooled, I sliced a square of dark chocolate into thin shavings to arrange as the garnish in the center. Yum!!! Here’s the recipe for Chocolate Mousse Pie filling:

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 1 baked pie shell

Directions

In small microwave safe bowl melt 4 ounces of unsweetened baking chocolate until stir-able (about 45 seconds on high). Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl with an electric mixer beat 1 cup (2 sticks) of regular (salted) butter and 1 1/2 cups of white sugar until fluffy (about 1 to 2 minutes). When melted chocolate is cooled, drizzle it over the butter/sugar mixture. Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Beat the mixture thoroughly until combined (on a Kitchen Aid mixer, you will be using the whisk attachment).

Turn your mixer to a medium speed and over a period of 15 to 20 minutes add in the four eggs, one at a time, leaving about 5 minutes between each egg addition. Once the pie filling is well mixed, pour it into the baked pie shell, scraping every last speck of it out of the bowl. Smooth out the pie filling and place pie in the refrigerator to chill for at least two hours (preferably longer).

 

Well, I learned yet another baking lesson: Any time you bake a dessert, it might not be exactly what you had in mind or planned, and mistakes, even very little ones, are inevitable (sigh.) Yet no matter how deformed or eccentric (there’s a difference between eccentric and iffy) it may appear, you better believe it will taste out of this world, nevertheless (it’s chocolate!). But that’s just my crazy experience.

~Serena Sundae

One Response to “Sunday With a Chance of Mousse”

  1. Aw, Serena Sundae, I’m so sorry it was a struggle! But this is a totally authentic home cook experience — that is, something going wayyy wrong and having to figure out how to turn it around. I think you did a fantastic job!

    Did the recipe specify a baked shell, by the way? I hope I didn’t send you home with an inaccurate recipe. We blind baked the shell together in class, so I may not have realized if the recipe didn’t specify to do so.

Leave a Reply

