Happy Thanksgiving, with a slice of pie!

November 23, 2010

What is better than a slice of cold streusel topped Pumpkin pie with whipped cream?….I can’t think of a SINGLE thing. I absolutely love this time of year, the leaves are changing color and the weather is getting colder and best of all, I have an excuse to make pies! Thank you Thanksgiving. Last week I was able to experience making one of the best pies that I have ever made, but let me tell you, it was quite a journey. In order to make one pie you will need to use this recipe:

Crust:
– 2 cups flour
– 1 teaspoon salt
– 1/4 cup shortening, chopped (you can also substitute butter for this)
– 1/2 cup cold butter, chopped
– 3-4 tablespoons ice cold water
Filling:
– 1 can (15 oz) pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
– 1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups)
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 2 eggs, slightly beaten
– 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves)
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
Streusel:
– 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
– 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
– 2 tablespoons butter, softened
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
Whipped Cream:
– 1 cup heavy cream
3-4 tablespoons powdered sugar

It all started when I preheated the oven to 425 degrees (we have one of those old fashioned ovens where there is no preheat button, I just had to turn some knobs)…and from there I was ready to start!

Preheating the Oven

After I preheated the oven it was time to start on one of the best parts of the pie: The Crust!!!

To make the crust I pulsed the salt and butter together in a food processor (that Seltzer Sayre so graciously leant to me).

I measured out the flour and put it into the food processor.

Leveling flour

The ingredients out and ready to go

Pulsing the ingredients

I had to makes sure that the first time I pulsed the mixture it resulted in the texture of coarse sand. Then I added some more chunks of butter and pulsed until the butter pieces were about the size of small peas (which took about 10 pulses)

Coarse Sand

Small Peas

Next, I had to add in a minimum amount of ice cold water and pulse on low. I had the pleasure of using a nice green cup to hold my ice water. It definitely went well with my orange-brown pumpkin theme. I measured out 3 tablespoons of water and added it and then like magic, I had dough!!

Measuring the water

After the mixture came together to form dough (which is super exciting), I formed the dough into a disk shape and wrapped it in plastic and put it in the refrigerator for about 25 minutes (anywhere from 20-30 minutes works, just make sure its cool enough).

Disk of dough!

When the dough was ready, I took it out of the fridge and began to roll it out. It had to be about 2 inches larger around the edges than my pie dish. After I had finished rolling the dough out, I transferred it to my pie plate (this was a scary process, but it turned out very successfully) and folded the excess dough under and began to crimp. In order to crimp I pressed two fingers on one side and used my thumb on the other, to create an interesting pattern.

Rolling out the dough!

Crimp Crimp Crimp

The finished crust...all crimped and ready to be filled

Finally the crust is done!!! Time to start making the scrumdidlyumptious (is that even a word) filling. I LOVE anything to do with pumpkins and cinnamon, so I could not wait to get started on the filling. My first task was to get all the ingredients in a bowl and mix them together. I mixed all kinds of things such as sugar, pumpkin, cinnamon and even a couple of eggs.

Mixing away

By this point, the pumpkin pie mixture was smelling very good. Once the filling was made and poured in the pie crust, I put the pie in the oven for about 30 minutes. In the mean time, it was time to make the streusel. I had never made it before, so this was a first for me. In order to make the streusel, I had to cut the butter into my other ingredients (such as sugar and flour) until I had a nice crumbly mixture. I had to make sure the brown sugar was packed down.

Packed brown sugar

Cutting the butter in

Once the streusel was done I sprinkled it on top of the already somewhat baked pie and then baked for 15-20 minutes longer until the knife came out clean.

 

Sprinkle time

Did the knife come out clean………….. YES!

It's clean!!

Of course, I had to let the pie cool for about an hour and so in my spare time I decided to watch a little TV, maybe play a game or two with my dog, but then it was back to work, with the finishing touches!

The LAST step. Are you ready, it is time to face the whipped cream! Not only is it creamy but it is also very whippy and delicious! To make it, I had to beat cream and sugar together until I got soft peaks. This only took about 20 minutes and then it was perfect!

Mmmm, whipped cream is the best. So smooth...so creamy

My dog was getting so hungry by this point! He wanted some pumpkin pie very badly. The smell was taunting him and he had that devilish look in his eye.

My dog, hungrily sitting near the pie

Finally! The pie was finished. Time to enjoy a slice of heaven. Yum! With a dollop of whipped cream and some hot tea, this pie was ready to eat. Need a visual, check this link out: http://www.jacquielawson.com/viewcard.asp?code=HY27482779

All ready to devour!

Thanks everyone, Sophia Pizzeria!

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving, with a slice of pie!”

  1. sophia pizzeria–i LOVE your kitchen-photography skills! -seltzer sayre

  2. That pie was so delicious and really amazing. Hoping for a repeat of it soon!!!

Leave a Reply

