Have You Ever Had the Spontaneous Urge To Make a Batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies?

January 18, 2011

Hello it is I, Crazy Cooking Joe and if you’re like me then you have had the urge or you will have the urge to spontaneously make a batch of cookies for absolutely no reason. Well, fear not for I have the perfect recipe for what I consider to be one of the greatest chocolate chip cookie recipes of all time. But, before I share my little secret with you I feel I should share a story about the first time I ever baked these cookies. Believe it or not this was the first thing that I ever baked and I made these when I was about ten or eleven years old so give me a little slack, because the tale that I am about to tell is full of fail. You see when I first made these cookies there were about four things that went horrible wrong. The first was thinking that I could cook on my own and telling my mom to let me cook these on my own. My mom allowing me to peruse a new interest of mine, cooking that is, she agreed to let me mix the ingredients by myself, but she would have to help me with the oven and whatnot; in hindsight I shouldn’t have agreed. Because one of the first things that I had to do was crack eggs; well I cracked the eggs, but I not only included the eggs, but the shell as well. My next big mistake was using a tablespoon as a teaspoon; so I put a little too much salt, vanilla, and banking soda. And the final tidbit of fail that I have to add to this story was that the cookies where a little overdone and by a little I mean a lot. So those weren’t eaten, but the ones that I made today were in fact error free and quite delicious. So with no further procrastination the recipe for this batch of cookies that is certainly to bring a smile to your face with every bite is as follows . . .

Original Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies

First I feel that I should mention that this took me about 25 minutes to make the dough and plus the 9 – 11 or so minutes to cook it was about a 45 minute endeavor since I had limited oven space at the time. Also I recommend that for this recipe you have a plethora measuring utensils, a large mixing bowl, a wooden spoon, a melon baller (if you’re like me and cheat when it comes to measuring out cookies), an oven, a spatula, cookie sheets, parchment paper, pot holders, and the ingredients that are listened within the instructions.

First in a large mixing bowl combine 2 sticks or 1 cup of butter, 1 Teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 large eggs, ¾ cup granulated sugar, and ¾ cup brown sugar. Mix until you are presented with a somewhat creamy texture.

Once you have that add 2 ¼ cup all-purpose flour and mix a little more.

Then add 1 Teaspoon salt, 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda, and continue mixing.

Finally you add the 2 cups of chocolate chips; mix the chocolate chips in with a wooden spoon so you don’t break the chips into a powder with your mixer.

Once you’ve mixed them together you can either use a couple spoons to place make your dough balls or you can do what I do and take a melon baller to make somewhat uniform dough balls.

Then cook in an oven at 375 degrees for 9 – 11 minutes or until their golden brown

And now some highlights of my cooking process

 

Almost there

Even closer

I apologize, because I don’t have an image of the final product. You see my camera doesn’t want to cooperate with me at the moment and because of that I don’t have an image of the final product.

Don’t forget to enjoy ever bite!

Leave a Reply

