Gotta, Wanta, Needa, Eata Chicken Salad Sandwich?

February 21, 2011

Hey! It’s Oreo! I just ate lunch. And it was goooood!

Do you ever find yourself in a certain mood that you just really want one specific menu item and you feel like nothing will stop you from getting it? Well, that’s how I was feeling just a little while earlier. I was sitting on my pool deck, soaking up some sun, grudgingly typing out a six page history test due for tomorrow. It was getting close to one o’clock and I thought to myself, I really need some chicken salad. Like, I really need it. So I started poking around on some food blogs for inspiration and I found a delicious recipe for southwestern style chicken salad. It had chicken, eggs, plain yogurt, taco seasoning, cilantro and a few other things in it. I got up and looked in the fridge, and problem: I didn’t have eggs or plain yogurt. So I went back to searching half heartedly finding recipe after recipe that I didn’t quite have all the ingredients for. I found one with grapes, which I absolutely love grapes with chicken salad, but I didn’t have any grapes! Then I got an idea. What if I combined a few of the recipes I liked? I’ve been working on my cooking skills for a few months now, so why not improvise?

I planned out what I wanted carefully. I got out about a three cups of cubed chicken (which I already had prepped in the freezer), a cup of mayonnaise, and a quarter cup of each: shredded carrots, sliced celery, and minced onions. That was my base. I took these five ingredients and mixed them together.

Mixing

For seasoning, I put a dash of salt and pepper, about two teaspoons of cilantro, and for my southwestern flair, a little less than half a package of taco seasoning. I mixed it all together and found it slightly dry so I added another half cup of mayonnaise.

Seasoning

I stirred it again and got out two spoons for tasting, one for me and one for my curious younger sister who flitting about the kitchen with a camera, waiting for this moment when she could have a sample. As soon as she put the spoon to her lips she looked at me and smiled. It had passed her approval as well as my own. She suggested that I serve it to her on a pita bread sandwich. And she wanted salt and vinegar chips and sweet pickles. Hey, she could end up a good chef too, mixing the sweet with the salty was a good combo for a picnic style side. I made us each a plate and it was time to enjoy.

Chicken Salad Sandwich

So here I am now, back sitting on my beach towel soaking up some sun eating the absolute most delicious chicken salad I’ve ever tasted. Plus, it’s sunny enough that I might actually get a tan today!

Studying and Eating Lunch

I’ve listed the recipe below, but remember, if you try this, these are close approximations. The chicken I used had been seasoned with salt and pepper before it was baked so if you prepare your own chicken, I suggest the same. The salt, pepper, cilantro, and taco seasoning were to taste, so if you decide to make my recipe, use less than the recipe says at first and add more if you so desire. As I’ve learned today, the best part about cooking is to use your imagination. Explore what’s out there and make your own creation. Not all flavors will blend harmoniously, but some combos will be so delicious you’ll wonder why nobody else had thought of it before. It won’t always come out perfect the first time, but with a little tweaking you could come up with the best meal you’ve ever eaten!

Recipe:

3 cups cubed seasoned chicken
1 1/2 cups mayonnaise
1/4 cup shredded carrots
1/4 cup sliced celery
1/4 cup minced onions
2 tsp cilantro
1/2 package of taco seasoning
dash salt
dash pepper

Leave a Reply

