CHILI!!!!!!!!

February 28, 2011

Hey its Crazy Cooking Joe here and while we may have made some tasty dishes in cooking class this year I must say this one takes the cake. This week we made a chili dish with a cornbread side. And while the cornbread was good the dish I’m going to talk about is the Chili.

And I must say it was good; it had that perfect little kick to it that you want with a chili. Which is why I highly recommend this chili recipe; fun fact traditional chili doesn’t have beans (Sheldon, Big Bang Theory). Again i must say that I really enjoyed this dish, because I really enjoyed this dish.

And I feel that its not just me who enjoyed this dish I believe it was the entire class; well those of use who were there. Sadly some people where sick and missed out on the delicious dish. but, you lucky people that read this don;t have to, because you will make this chili and realize how delicious it is.

Its interesting, because I don;t really eat chili that much; my family doesn’t really make many, strike that any spicy foods.  And chili is a member of that list; I hope that explains why I write how much I enjoy this dish.

On a side note before I provide you, the reader with the recipe I must say that in my personal opinion I would have added more spice; that is because I really enjoy spicy dishes. So with no further delay . . .

Spicy Chili

-What you need: a Dutch oven, bowls, a cutting board, a knife, ingredients, and some sort of stirring device for the chili.Also plan on this taking approximately  40-50 minutes depending on how long it takes you to gather your ingredients.

1-1/2 pounds ground beef

1-1/2 pounds bulk Italian sausage

3 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) stewed tomatoes

2 cans (16 ounces each) kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup chopped onion

1 large green pepper, chopped

1 can (6ounces) tomato paste

2 heaping tablespoons jalapenos, finely chopped

2 tablespoons chili powder

2 tablespoons white vinager

1 table spoon dried oregano

2 garlic cloves, minced

1-1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1-1/2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon paprika

Directions:

In a Dutch oven, cook beef and sausage over medium heat until no longer pink, drain. Add the remaning ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes, stirring frequently. Garnish individual servings of chili with cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

NOTE: When cutting or handling peppers; disposable gloves are recommended. Avoid touching your eyes and face.

Picture time

The Ingredients

Once everything is mixed together

Don’t forget to enjoy

Leave a Reply

