Broil

March 8, 2011

1/2 of the insane amount of beef

What’s up this is Wheat Bread with my final blog post.  For the first time I made a meal for my entire family and a friend, who I made take pictures.  My nerves were building the on my way back from Carolina Cones and I was starting to question my abilities but once I was in the kitchen I knew that it was on.  I started to walk around the kitchen looking for the necessary cooking supplies and realized that I knew the Woodlawn kitchen better than my own.  After I got my Mis-en-Place set and ready to rock I got to work first with the steaks and then to the asparagus.  I knew that the searing was going to be kind of lame because the steaks were super heavy and my arms super small but I muscled through and successfully flipped the steaks a total of four times each, I woke up the next morning sore but not everyone needs to know that.  I seared the steaks with both butter and olive oil and dang it smelled good.  But that freaking skillet made that oil pop and I will say it was hot!!

Flavor Yum

and the steak seasoning really got into the steak.  The steaks made their trek to the oven were they got finished off.  I went with 7 minutes on each side so they would be medium rare, the only way I know to have steak.  While the steaks were on their last side I started on the asparagus which was very simple to make.

Optimizing the space on the pan

It was olive oil Salt and pepper but it ended up being delicious.  They key is to really message the salt into the veggies.  I also found success once it was done in putting more salt on after the cooking just for some more flavor.

The Final Product

How to Broil Steak

Ingredients:
Steaks (Porterhouse or T-bone, about 1-inch thick)

1 ounce of goat cheese per steak

about 1 tablespoon of butter per steak

1 teaspoon of olive oil per steak

  1. Allow the steaks (Porterhouse, ribeye, etc.) to rest on a plate on the counter for about 15 minutes before cooking. Rinse the meat under cool running water. Pat dry on both sides with several layers of paper towels.
  1. Place the empty broiler pan under the broiler. Turn the boiler on the high setting to pre-heat for 10 minutes.
  1. Season the steaks on both sides. Keep in mind that salt draws moisture from the meat, so use pepper, garlic or onion powder or specially prepared steak seasoning blends.
  1. Sear the steaks in a stove-stop skillet to seal in the juices. Add a pat of butter and teaspoon of olive oil to a hot skillet. Set the steaks in the pan undisturbed for 60 to 90 seconds on each side.
  1. Remove the hot boiler pan from the oven. Place the prepared steaks side by side in the center of the pan. Position the steaks about 3 inches from the broiler flame or element.
  1. Broil the steaks until the desire doneness is reached. Cook thick steaks for 3 to 4 minutes on a side for rare, 5 to 6 minutes for medium rare and so forth. During the last minute of cooking, sprinkle goat cheese onto steak and leave it under broiler, watching carefully.  Remove when it’s melty and toasted.
  1. Adjust cooking times to get the desired results. Consider the thickness of the meat and whether it’s pan seared. Let the finished steaks rest for 5 minutes before serving to allow the juices to redistribute.

Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients:

2 bunches medium asparagus

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Grated or shaved Parmesan, optional

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Trim the woody ends from the asparagus, usually about 1 1/2 inches. Lightly peel the remaining stalks (not always necessary, but more of a personal preference). Spread the spears in a single layer on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with the salt and pepper, and roll to coat thoroughly.

Roast the asparagus until lightly browned and tender, about 8 to 10 minutes, giving the pan a good shake about halfway through to turn the asparagus. Arrange the roasted asparagus on a serving platter and top with some Parmesan. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

