Julia Child’s Perfect Omelette: Chronicled and Craved Pre-Sunrise

April 3, 2011

It is currently 4:46 AM, and all I can think about is how much I want an omelette.  Let me be more specific—all I can think about is how much I want one of Julia Child’s Perfect Omelettes.  I close my eyes and envision a surreal setting of rolling over and waking up around 10 AM (which, may I point out, is still FIVE HOURS from now) with the sun majestically shining through my window to begin the glorious day, and having Julia Child walk into my room with a warm plate filled with a light and tender omelette garnished with a Romano and parmesan cheese blend (okay “covered” is a better word to describe how much cheese I am envisioning).  There is even some Enya music in the background to complete the picture. Ahh…

Majestic view from the room I am envisioning

However, let’s snap back to reality.  It is now 4:55 AM, and I am sitting in the Burlington International Airport without any omelette or Enya music whatsoever.  The only substance I have to curb my hunger is an overly sugared PowerBar that I packed with me, because no food stores are open at this hour.  You know what—nothing should be open at this hour! Everyone deserves to sleep and wake up to Julia Child presenting them with an omelette.  But I guess for that plan to work, we would need millions of little Julia Childs, and unfortunately science technology has not yet successfully tackled the cloning industry.  Oh well…

So even though I have no omelette right now, I could easily make one if I had a few ingredients and a stovetop.  Maybe I’ll present this idea to the head honchos of airport land.  I’m sure transporting eggs and skillets through security would be TSA’s nightmare…But really, these omelettes are so easy to make that TSA should offer them to people as they wait in the security line in the wee hours of the morn.

In class this week we learned the secrets to creating the perfect omelette.   First, turn on the stove to a high setting to allow the skillet to reach a very hot temperature (note: it is important to turn on the correct burner…).   While the skillet is heating, go ahead and start the omelette mix.  Crack two eggs on the counter, and put them in a bowl.  You get extra green points if you compost your eggshells.  Whisk the eggs together with a pinch of salt and a dash of ground black pepper.   If you want to give your omelette a little bit of kick, need to get pumped up for a test next period, or just want to go out on a limb and be daring, add a little bit of chili powder to the mix.  Once all of your powders and eggs are whisked together, add one teaspoon of water and briefly whisk again.

Egg Whisking Masters

By now, the skillet should be sufficiently heated.  Melt two teaspoons of butter in the pan, and make sure to spread it around by tilting the pan.  Once the butter has melted, but before it turns brown, pour in the egg mix and let it sit for a second. As soon as the yellow circle of egg starts to bubble and slightly resembles discolored lava, lift the skillet a little bit off of the burner and start shaking.  Seriously, shake like there is no tomorrow.  While I was shaking I had the urge to belt out, “shake shake shake, shake your skillet” to the tune of “(Shake Shake Shake) Shake Your Booty” by KC & The Sunshine Band.  (The person sitting next to me at the airport just judged me for Googling that song…).  But the point is: shake it y’all.  Eventually, the omelette will start to consolidate itself in the middle of the pan as you gently assist it with your spatula.  This whole process is rather quick—it took me about a minute and a half maximum to cook all of the liquid and create a log shaped omelette in the middle of my pan.

Around this time, your stomach should start to growl in anticipation of the wonders that are about to enter your mouth.  At least mine did.  I slid the omelette from the skillet to my plate, put a whole bunch of cheese on top of it, and decorated with a few green onions.  I would consider this omelette solid soul food—it was tender and spread a rush of warmth through my mouth as soon as I took the first bite.  The warmth spread through my body, and it was one of those “feel-good” moments.  Beware: the omelette may disappear very quickly from your plate.  This is a very normal eater-experience.  These omelettes are best served hot, so don’t be courteous and wait around for your friends to finish making their omelettes.  Grab a fork and dig in!

Voila! (Cue mouth watering)

The best thing about Julia Child’s Perfect Omelette is that it is delicious and super quick.  In fact, after learning how to make these omelettes in class, I made two omelettes for my dad and myself Thursday morning before we left for Vermont.  And I can assure you, the second I step foot in my house after this long day of travel in front of me, I will be whipping up one of Julia Child’s Perfect Omelettes before delving into the deep depths of homework that ominously pervade my near future.  The omelette, (not the homework) will serve as my motivation for making it back to Davidson, NC.  But for now, this is Saucy Sayre signing out.  Stay Saucy, Citizens.

Warning: Consumption of numerous perfect omelettes may lead to feeling like this.

6 Responses to “Julia Child’s Perfect Omelette: Chronicled and Craved Pre-Sunrise”

  1. Kaitlin said

    You’re such a good writer! Making an omelette like this sounds fun. I’ll definitely give it a shot!

  2. sayre said

    Thanks, Kaitlin! Making these omelettes is so much fun–I definitely recommend them!

  3. Great writing, Sayre! What a fun post to read.

  4. What a great post! Welcome to blogging! It’s even more addictive than omelets!

Leave a Reply

