Chicken Salads with Croissants; Picnic Time!

April 17, 2011

Chicken Salad Contessa Sandwiches

Recipe by: Barefoot Contessa

I’ve never had chicken salad before. Honestly, every time I’ve seen it it reminded me of an odd, cold, mashed potatoes gone wrong sort of dish. Plus, I’m pretty sure that the only time I ever actually saw chicken salad was in some cafeteria from summer camp, which doesn’t hold the best memories for me. Basically, chicken is the only sort of meat that I eat, and I don’t even eat it that regularly. I also almost never eat sour cream and mayonnaise, so when I first looked at this recipe, I was completely convinced that I would  detest this dish. Once it was done, though, I changed my mind. The moist grapes compliment the flaky pastry, and the flavorful tarragon leaves balance out great with the smooth chicken and dressing.

I wont lie, they look delicious, dont they?

Before you get started, I’d suggest getting these items:

1 roasted chicken breast, cut into a 3/4 inch dice (shredded chicken also works)

Good olive oil (not quite sure why you need this… We never actually used it, but if you find somewhere to add it in, go on ahead!)

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 cup pecan halves

1/4 cup walnut halves (apparently, accidentally crushing these with the dull side of the knife also works)

1/4 cup of good mayonnaise

1/4 cup sour cream

1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh tarragon leaves, divided

1 1/2 cups grapes, cut in 1/2

lettuce leaves, for serving

croissants, for serving

Alright, have you set it all out? Good. Here’s what you do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place the pecans and walnuts on a sheet pan and toast in the oven for 7 to 8 minutes until golden, stirring once in the middle. Once that’s done, set them aside to cool.

Stirring the walnuts and pecans!

For the dressing, mix together the mayonnaise, sour cream, salt, and pepper. Fold in half the chopped tarragon leaves. When we did this, there was a little too much salt, because we had roasted our chicken with salt as well, so it would probably be worth the effort to add the salt to taste for your dressing.

Place the diced chicken in a bowl, add the pecans, walnuts, and grapes. Pour the dressing over the chicken and toss well. Sprinkle the remaining chopped tarragon leaves on top, and serve with whatever you would like.

Here is the chicken salad, pre-croissant.

We used croissants and lettuce leaves, but you can try it with almost anything (I feel like this would be great with some sort of thick, crispy, crouton bread), the possibilities are endless!

Yes, you must look exactly like this when you start eating.

Happy eating!

~Popsicle

3 Responses to “Chicken Salads with Croissants; Picnic Time!”

  1. I was a bit skeptical of this chicken salad when we first began making it, but I have to say, it was absolutely delicious!!!!

  2. sayre1311 said

    mmmmhm this was so yummy!

  3. Sophia Spach said

    Delicious!

Leave a Reply

