Crazy for Chocolate

May 22, 2011

I happen to love chocolate. In fact I do not know many people who don’t! Chocolate ice cream, cake, bunnies, oranges, muffins, brownies, pie, you name it, if it is chocolate, i would probably eat it in a heart beat! On Thursday Sayre, Mallorie and I decided to cook a feast for dinner. We made all kinds of delicious food such as macaroni and cheese casserole, popovers, salad and venison (that Sayre’s dad made) and best of all, beautiful German chocolate muffins for dessert! It was pretty much the perfect meal.

Delicious!

Growing up I have always LOVED chocolate. Whenever I went to England as a child my grandparents bought me tons of Cadbury’s chocolate and would often spoil me with all kinds of cookies and cakes. I specifically remember having what seemed like pounds of chocolate in my suitcase to take home with me after visiting family in England. My brother and I would load up on candy making us very hyper on the plane ride home. It was all pretty crazy and very memorable.

As you can imagine, when we had the idea to make chocolate muffins I was so excited! Anytime chocolate is mentioned, I am immediately hooked! My friend Sarah has a really good recipe that we always use to make chocolate muffins, however we were had very limited time so we had to use a muffin mix for this particular meal (Still turned out amazing!)

Cadbury Chocolate aka Love of my Life

Sarah’s Muffin Recipe (also at all recipes.com):

Ingredients: (yields 12 muffins)

  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (sometimes I like to add more, in order to make them extra extra chocolatey)
  • 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line muffin cups (2-1/2 inches in diameter) with paper bake cups.
  2. In large mixer bowl, beat butter, sugar, brown sugar, egg, and vanilla until well blended. Add applesauce, blend well.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and cinnamon, if desired. Add to butter mixture, blending well. Stir in chocolate chips. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full with batter.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 22 to 26 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean. Cool slightly in pan on wire rack. Sprinkle muffin tops with confectioners’ sugar, if desired. Serve warm.
* Another serving suggestion: Serve with Vanilla Ice Cream

Batter

*Pouring the batter in the muffin dish can get very messy at times, but it is totally worth it!

Just imagine biting into a fresh-out-of-the oven chocolate muffin with gooey chocolate chips melting everywhere! I absolutely love making these because one, they make the whole house smell delicious and two, they taste incredible. I made some for my friends yesterday and they were a huge success! It left everybody wanting more, including me!

Ready to be served!

Chocolate is delicious however it can sometimes be unhealthy, if you eat too much of it. Don’t worry though, there is in fact, a compromise. One of my favorite foods to eat and make are chocolate covered strawberries (other kinds of berries work too, but strawberries are my favorite)! They are easy to make and fun to eat. Not only are you getting your fruit fix but it also covers the dessert category.

Fresh Strawberries waiting to be covered in Chocolate

These are very simple yet extremely rewarding once they are finished:

Ingredients (yields about 3 cups)

  • 16 ounces milk chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons shortening
  • 1 pound fresh strawberries with leaves

Directions

  1. Insert toothpicks into the tops of the strawberries.
  2. In a double boiler (or a microwave), melt the chocolate and shortening, stirring occasionally until smooth. Holding them by the toothpicks, dip the strawberries into the chocolate mixture.
  3. Turn the strawberries upside down and insert the toothpick into styrofoam for the chocolate to cool
(If that recipe is too complicated you can always just put some chocolate chips in a bowl, melt them, and dip the strawberries)

Chocolate covered Strawberry

So clearly I am in love with anything to do with chocolate. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner as long as I have a cold glass of milk as well. I recently found out that there is a chocolate theme park where you can make your own chocolate, ride chocolate roller coaster and chill with chocolate statues, sounds like heaven to me! One of my future aspirations is to take a trip there! Dinner was a success and I got my chocolate fill for the evening!

This is Sophia Pizzeria signing out!

6 Responses to “Crazy for Chocolate”

  1. Jan said

    Hi Sophia
    I loved reading your blog about going to England as a child and getting loaded up with tons of Cadbury’s chocolate – such wonderful memories. You are a very special niece and we love you very much. All good wishes for your time at Elon College. Love from Auntie Jan and family in England. xxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. sayre1311 said

    those muffins look yummy!!

  3. Sophia Spach said

    🙂 you know they were!

  4. […] woodlawnkitchen.wordpress.com via Alison on […]

Leave a Reply

