A ‘Royal’ Breakfast

June 4, 2011

 

EGGS BENEDICT

Hey kids. It’s Icebox Isaac signing in.

Ok so this may be a little late but I’m going to tell you about a certain breakfast I had on Friday, April 29th. You may think I’m silly. You may think I’m ridiculous. But I have a GOOD TIME.

It began with my mother prodding my arm at five in the morning to tell me that it was indeed time. She said that Prince William and Harry had just arrived at the Westminster Abbey, and that I needed to come downstairs pronto to begin the festivities. She had on a large purple brimmed hat and in her hand she held a British flag. I proceeded to shoot up out of my sheets and pull my top hat off the shelf to bestow upon my head (I kid you not). I had my own royal procession down the stairs and joined my mother on our big red couch. There she served me breakfast tea out of our fanciest china as we watched royalty drive through England to get to the ceremony.

Ok so the royal wedding between Kate Middleton and Prince William was a very big deal to my mother and I. She watched Di and Charles get married in 80’s and she was going to be darned if we didn’t get up early and watch this one! After about an hour of processionals and hat judging we began to get hungry, so we decided to cook up the most British thing we could thing of: Eggs Benedict. I got out the cookbook my ex-boyfriend so generously gave me last Christmas and got crackin’.

Here’s the delicious recipe for this special breakfast treat:

Ingredients:

  • 4 poached eggs
  • 1 recipe Mock Hollandaise Sauce (see below)
  • 2 English muffins, split
  • 4 slices Canadian-style bacon
  • Cracked black pepper

Directions:

  1. Prepare the poached eggs. (Recipe for that can be found from a previous Woodlawn Kitchen post found by clicking here.)
  2. When prepared, set the eggs aside and keep warm while making sauce.
  3. In a small saucepan combine 1/3 cup dairy sour cream, 1/3 cup mayonnaise, 2 teaspoons lemon juice, and 1 teaspoon yellow mustard. Cook and stir over medium-low heat until warm.
  4. Preheat boiler. Place muffin halves, cut sides up, on a baking sheet. Broil 3-4 inches from the heat about two minutes or until golden brown. Top each muffin with a half slice of Canadian bacon; broil about 1 minute more or until bacon is heated.
  5. To serve, top each bacon-topped muffin half with an egg. Spoon Hollandaise Sauce over eggs. Sprinkle with pepper.
  6. Enjoy!

loveiceboxisaac

Leave a Reply

