Before My Dissapearing Act, My Tummy Must Disappear: A Story About Salad

June 4, 2011

WALDORF SALAD RECIPE

Hey yo. It’s Icebox Isaac reporting for duty.

As I prepare for the summer and all the magical adventures it bestows, I must begin to prioritize and organize the things in my life. As June is already well upon us, it has come to my attention that it is beach season: therefore I must look good. Therefore I must stop eating junk food and start going to the gym. Not only is it beach season, but I am also in the company of the Davidson Community Players’ production of ‘Ragtime’ which opens in around two weeks. I am playing the role of historic icon and illusionist Harry Houdini, which presents itself with lots of intriguing challenges and pieces that I have to work through (including hanging upside down in a straight jacket). I was not too worried about the whole ordeal until I had a nice chat last month with the costume designer, where he informed that, true to real-life Houdini, I will be skimpily clad and my upper body will be fairly exposed to enhance different character developing aspects of the show.  When this news hit my ears I’m fairly certain the sirens in my head could be heard for leagues. The little people in my head started to shout: “MAYDAY MAYDAY,” and they systematically began aborting ship.

Just kidding.

No, but really, this was a shock to me, and I realized I had to do something about it. So to get to the point of this post, I have been making myself salads. This Waldorf Salad was particularly delicious. Let’s talk about the details.

Ingredients:

  • Four cups chopped apples and/or pears

  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (I prefer walnuts because they taste yummy and because it sounds like Waldorf)

  • 1/2 cup raisins, snipped pitted whole dates, or dried tart cherries (I just had raisins)
  • 1/2 cup seedless green grapes, halved
  • 2/3 cup mayonnaise (I used low-fat, which is much better for you but probably doesn’t taste nearly as good…your choice)

Directions:

In a medium bowl toss apples/pears with lemon juice. Stir in the celery, nuts, raisins, and grapes. Stir in mayo until combined. Serve immediately or chill for up to eight hours. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

