Put That Biscuit In My Basket!

June 4, 2011

CHEESY DROP BISCUITS WITH GARLIC BUTTER (OR APPLE BUTTER)

I’ve always had a moral dilemma with most biscuits. The moral dilemma is this: they are always too flaky. I remember as a small child being whisked into the depths of the grease pit they call the ‘Bojangles’ and always leaving full, yet slightly unsatisfied. The chicken tenders: perfect. The fixin’s including (but not limited to) greenbeans, macaroni, and season fries: to die for. But the biscuits. Those biscuits. As a child I remember how funny they made my mouth feel upon putting the yellow morsel into my mouth. It was not until I aged a decent amount that I realized it was a greasy film penetrating the very core of tongue and the buds nestling upon it. For me, biscuits have always been a moral dilemma.

But then I learned facts. The fact is this: there are more than one kind of biscuit. That’s right! It was not until I stepped into the biscuit lesson in the Woodlawn Kitchen that I realized such a notion. The biscuit recipe I am about to share with you is that of a ‘drop biscuit,’ by far the most delicious section of the stuff. They are wetter because they contain more liquid and they are almost like a batter. They have a course texture and appearance, making them also much more elegant to look at. Here we go.

Ingredients:

1 cup of original Bisquick

1/3 cup milk

1/2 cup of shredded Cheddar cheese

1 tablespoon butter, melted

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

apple butter (optional)

Directions:
-Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

-In a bowl mix Bisquick and the cheese. Then add milk.

-Stir with a fork (to avoid the cheese sticking to a spoon) until soft dough forms.

-On a lined cookie sheet, drop the dough by five to six spoonfuls about 2 inches apart.

-Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown.

-In a small bowl, mix butter and garlic powder until well mixed: brush on half of warm biscuits before removing from cookie sheet.

-Serve half with garlic butter and half with apple butter

-Enjoy!

loveiceboxisaac

Leave a Reply

