Crazy for Quiche

June 7, 2011

Hey guys, so as many of you may know, I am graduating from Woodlawn School in just two days. This post, in fact, is the last piece of work I will ever do in high school at Woodlawn! It is a very bittersweet moment for all of us who are graduating. On Saturday I realized that this was the last weekend ever before summer. It was a perfect day to make a Quiche for my family for dinner! I don’t want to admit this but I didn’t used to like Quiche as a child. However, when I tried this one, I completely changed my mind. It was so delicious and bursting with flavor! I could not believe that I had been opposed to this growing up. I guess I must have been crazy back then.

The Ingredients needed are as follows: (Yields 1 Quiche)

To make the crust you will need:

* 2 cups flour

* 1 teaspoon salt

* ¼ cup cold shortening (butter works too)

* ½ cup cold butter, chopped

* 4-5 tablespoons ice cold water

* 1 egg and 1 teaspoon heavy cream for egg wash

How can this become dough...magic!

First, pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. In order to make the crust, pulse the salt and flour together to combine. Add scoops of shortening and pulse until the mixture has the texture of course sand, about 10 seconds. Add in chunks of butter and pulse until butter pieces are no larger than small peas, about 10 pulses. Add minimum amount of water and pulse on low. If dough remains crumbly and doesn’t come together, add another tablespoon of water. Add as little as is required to enable the dough to be rolled into a ball. Form the dough into a disk, wrap in plastic, and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes (or you can just put it in the freezer for 10 minutes).

The dough!! It's coming together.

Roll the disk of dough out to around 2 inches larger than your pie plate and transfer it, situating it in the plate. Fold excess dough around the edges and crimp, trimming where necessary. Blind bake the crust by covering it with parchment, filling it with pie weights or pinto beans, and baking four around 20 minutes. Remove the paper and weights and bake another 5 minutes.

Crimp Crimp Crimp

Making crust is very satisfying. At first when its just the flour, salt and butter together it does not seem possible that dough can be made from that concoction. However, when you add a little bit of water its like magic! Somehow the water makes it all stick together and form real dough. It’s a pretty amazing thing to watch if you ask me!

Mis en Place!

Once the crust was crimped and perfectly in place it was time to add the filling (definitely my favorite part of the whole thing)!

For the filling you will need:

* 1 tablespoon olive oil

* 2 medium onions, chopped

* salt and black pepper

* 1 cup fresh, flat-leaf parsley, chopped

* 4 large eggs

* ¾ cup heavy cream

* 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

* 8 ounces Italian cheese blend, grated

Choppin' Parsley

If you want to add a nice side dish to the quiche there is a simple salad that compliments it very well:

* 2 cups mixed greens

* olive oil

* lemon juice

Whisking like a crazy!

Heat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add the onions and ½ teaspoon each of salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the parsley.

Parsley and Onions, yum!

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, cream, nutmeg, and ¼ teaspoon salt. Stir in the onion mixture and the cheese. Pour the egg mixture into the crust. Bake until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes. Let sit for 5 minutes. Drizzle the greens with olive oil and lemon juice to taste and season with salt and pepper. Serve with quiche.

Mixin'

I don’t know about you but I LOVE the smell of onions cooking. Let me just tell you, when I was cooking these onions, boy did they smell wonderful. Along with the smell, the sound of the sizzling is pretty freaking awesome too. It makes me feel like a professional chef cooking something really important.

Once I added the rest of the mixture to the onions it was truly starting to come together. I poured it into the crust and finally it was time to put in the oven!

Pouring the mixture into the crust!

I anxiously waited as the Quiche was cooking. Waiting it one of the hardest parts about cooking. If fact, it is oftentimes one of the hardest things about life. I feel like I am always waiting for something whether it is for my cookies to be ready or to start college, or for my birthday or even for exams to be over and summer to be here.

waiting...

As I was sitting there waiting I began to think about all my amazing memories, friends and teachers I have had a Woodlawn. I will truly miss this next year and can’t wait to come back a visit for reunions. Suddenly this Quiche cooking craze had turned into a trip down memory lane. Thankfully the timer went off right before I got too sad (I will save that for graduation) and it was eating time!! My whole family could not wait to dig in!

Ding...done!

The verdict… It was a success! It was delicious and I will definitely be making it a lot in the future. I can’t believe that highschool is over already. I can’t wait to start cooking in college, thats for sure!

The final product mostly devoured already!

This is Senior, Sophia Pizzeria, signing out forever. Happy cooking!

(Recipe by: Real Simple)

One Response to “Crazy for Quiche”

  1. Auntie Jan said

    Looks so yummy Sophia – well done! Wish you could have sent me a slice.
    Don’t be too sad about leaving Woodlawn. You’ll have lots of memories to take with you to Elon.
    Love you lots xxxx

Leave a Reply

