Quichilicious

June 8, 2011

Your final quiche should look somewhat like this.

I’ve never made a quiche before, and I think that I’ve only eaten one or two in my entire life. Of course, now that I’ve made this, I realize that will have to change; this was delicious! I cut my quiche into 6 pieces, ate two of them, and allowed my parents to have the rest. While in my household there are enough people to eat it quickly, if you make this just for yourself, you can always save a few pieces for later. Just pop the slice in the microwave for 20 seconds and you’ll have a great snack!

Ingredients:

Pillsbury Piecrust (you can always make your own crust, however if you’re in a hurry any sort of frozen crust also works)

Fillings:

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 medium onions, chopped

salt and black pepper

1/2 cup fresh chives, basil and thyme (any sort of herbs would work, these are just the ones that I chose to use)

4 large eggs

3/4 cup heavy cream

8 ounces asiago and cheddar cheese blend, grated

My blend of cheeses. Yes, the mouse-shaped grater is essential.

Directions:

First cook the pie crust by following the directions on the box. The best thing to do would be to cover the pie with parchment paper and then fill it with pie weights or pinto beans, however, if you’re like me and you find that you don’t have either of these, you can always just use a fork to poke holes in it.

Do you see what's wrong? The crust isn't folded over the edge of the plate.

Also, remember to fold the crust over the edge of the pie plate! I forgot to do this and so by crust shrunk and became a lot more difficult to fill, so please learn from my mistakes and put the crust over the edge.

Remember that fresher onions are stronger than store bought ones.

While the crust bakes would be a great time to work on the filling. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat and add the onions and 1/2 teaspoon of both salt and pepper. Stir occasionally until soft (5 to 7 minutes). Stir in the herbs that you are using.

Sauté! Sauté!

Whisk together the eggs and 1/4 tablespoon of salt. Stir in the onion mixture and cheese. Pour this mixture into the crust, and bake at 375 F until a knife inserted in the middle will come out clean. This should take about 15-20 minutes (mine took about 23 minutes, but every oven is different).

A simple salad is a great and easy side dish.

While your quiche is baking, you can always prepare a simple salad to have as a side! I used some iceberg lettuce and baby spinach, then mixed in some mushrooms and drizzled it with a garlic dressing.

-Popsicle!

And your final result! Yum!

Leave a Reply

