Steak, always a favorite.

June 9, 2011

If you’ve read my post about lasagna, then you’ll know I used to be a very picky eater.  One thing I would always eat was a nice big steak, and believe me, I still will.  I love steak. There’s something about a juicy piece of steak, cooked just right (medium-rare, of course) that just makes my mouth water.  My family absolutely loves steak too.  When we hear that my mom is making steak for dinner, the house is FULL of excitement.  When I saw that marinated flank steak was an option for our final project, I had to make it.  And trust me, it was an amazing choice and I highly recommend it. Wanna learn how to make it?

Here are the ingredients:

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup cooking sherry

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons sesame oil

2 heaping tablespoons minced ginger

3 to 5 cloves minced garlic

1/2 teaspoons red pepper flakes

1 flank steak

Once you have all of that set out in your mise en place, you can begin to prepare the marinade.

Mise en Place

Combine all of the ingredients in a mixing bowl (Except the steak, keep that off to the side. You’ll use it later)

Take the steak out of the package, and give it a quick rinse.

Put the steak in a glass dish, and pour on the marinade. Its probably a good idea to flip the steak and get some of the marinade on both sides.  I used a spoon for this.

Then, cover the dish and put it in the refrigerator .  The recipe suggests letting it sit for 3 to 6 hours, but I let mine marinate overnight.

Now its time to broil your steak.  Set your oven to broil, and place your marinated steak on a broiling pan.  Position the pan around 3-4 inches below the heating element.  Leave in the oven for 3-4 minutes, then give it a flip.

How big was my steak? It took 2 tongs to flip it

Leave it in the oven for another 3-4 minutes, then take it out and take the steaks internal temperature using a meat thermometer. Cook the steak to: 120–125 degrees F for rare, 130–140 for medium rare. I prefer flank steak to be cooked to medium-rare, just to keep it from getting too tough.

If the steak has reached a good internal temperature, put it on a cutting board and cover it with aluminum foil to hold in the heat and to keep the steak from drying out, and let it rest for 10 minutes. Letting the steak sit will let it keep cooking a bit longer and let the juices redistribute.  Trust me, this step is definitely worth including.

When it’s time to cut the meat, make very thin slices, against the grain, and at a slight diagonal so that the slices are wide. Cutting against the grain makes the pieces more tender.

I made a sauce out of the leftover marinade, its pretty simple, but to be honest, I don’t think you need it. The steak is plenty flavorful already and the sauce is incredibly strong. Its not a very difficult, and some people might enjoy it, so its up to you! Here’s how to make it:

Before grilling the flank steak, strain the marinade into a small saucepan. Discard what stays in the sieve. Add ½ cup of water to the marinade. Boil the marinade while heating the grill for the meat AND add an additional 10 minutes. The point of boiling, obviously, is to take away any risk of bacteria from the marinade. Also, by boiling for ten to fifteen minutes, the sauce will reduce and slightly thicken. Then just spoon a little into a dish and use it as a dipping sauce for the meat.

I promise it tastes better than it looks here...

I also decided to make some potatoes with my steak. This was a very simple process that you can easily do while the steak is cooking.  I got some small potatoes, put them in a pot and covered them with water. Then I put them on to boil and started preparing my steak. Once the water started to boil I put 20 mins. on the timer and left them alone.  After the potatoes had boiled, I drained off the water and put them back in the pot with some butter so they could brown a bit. This is a pretty simple side that goes really well with the steak, but then again, I’ve always loved steak and potatoes, so you can have pretty much anything you want as a side.

Waiting to boil

After a little bit of stress from trying to cook everything all at once (as soon as I put the sauce on the stove I got overwhelmed, thats a lot of stuff to do all at on time) I finally had a meal prepared.  Both myself, and my family loved the steak. It disappeared pretty quickly.

If you’re a fan of steak, I definitely recommend giving this recipe a try.

-Cupcake

Leave a Reply

